The Office: Goodbye Michael

The Office

So it was Michael Scott’s last episode, and I suppose they did a nice job wrapping up Carell’s 5 year run on the hit NBC sitcom. I can’t deny that I was holding my breath waiting for Pam to show up at the airport and have her moment with Michael. Dwight’s final paintball fight with Michael was nice, and Jim’s “I’ll see you at lunch” was really nice.

The Office goes all Sofia Coppolla on our asses

The thing is, I’m not sure the show’s writing made the departure of Michael Scott any more emotional arresting than a lazy montage would have been. What I’m saying is, they have 7 seasons (and 2 really great seasons) of history with this character to fall back on. They could have had each character hug a cardboard cutout of Scott and I would have gotten teary.

I will say I was totally delighted that they finally addressed the fact that they have been filming this “documentary” for like EVER. “Call me if this thing ever airs” are Scott’s last audible words, which is so great. Then he takes of his mic, and mouths “That’s what she said” which is the first appropriate use of this phrase since 2007.

Let’s talk for a minute about where their taking the show though, it really shouldn’t take more than a minute because where they are taking it is NOWHERE. Phyllis is Erin’s biological mother? Gabe is the Scranton Strangler? Will Ferrell is a compulsive eater? It’s all too much, let’s just be glad we have a nice episode to go out on and pretend the show is over, 7 seasons is too much Office anyway OK? OK.

Goodbye, The Office!

1 Comment

Filed under NBC Thursday, TV

One response to “The Office: Goodbye Michael

  1. re: “we’ll talk about what a great boss you are at lunch”

    SO good.

Leave a Reply

